20 July 2016

// // Leave a Comment

Emily Scarratt to Lead Britain's Women's Rugby Sevens Team for Rio 2016

As per the recent Rio Olympics update, it is known that the World Cup winner of the England – Emily Sacrratt will be the skipper of the GB’s 12 women’s Olympic Rugby team. The 26 year old lady will be joining up with the Wales wing Jasmine Joyce who is known to be the single female non-English athlete of the team.

Mark Bennett who is having the 16 caps for the Scotland is one among the four players included in the men’s team. The others among the team include the Scarlets' James Davies, Newcastle's Marcus Watson and Harlequins' Ollie Lindsay-Hague. All these four players are having the experience of the past sevens.

Emily Scarratt to be Skipper of Great Britain's Rugby Sevens Squad for Rio

The men of the Great Britain will be facing the Kenya, New Zealand and Japan in the Rio 2016 Olympics whereas the women’s team will be playing with the Canada, Brazil and Japan. With the confirmation made by the squad GB’s Ruby Seven’s athletes, it has come to an end of all the teams’ announcement for this game before they are going to place and that which the Olympics starts on 5th of August 2016.

The GB Chef De Mission Mark England had a belief that, this is their most talented squad ever. Though the 15-side Rugby game has appeared previously at the Olympics, Rio is known to be the mark for the Rugby sevens game in the Olympics.

The Women’s GB team accompanied by their coach Simon Middleton have received training since the month of October whereas the men’s team started receiving training from the coach assembled by Simon Amor started in the month of May.

Great Britain Rugby Sevens Men's and Women's Squads 

Rugby Sevens Men's Team: Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors, hometown - Glasgow), Phil Burgess (England Sevens, Farnborough), Dan Bibby (England Sevens, Putney), Alex Davis (England Sevens, Bristol), Sam Cross (Wales Sevens, Newport), James Davies, (Carmarthen), Tom Mitchell (England Sevens, Wandsworth), Ollie Lindsay Hague (Harlequins, London), Dan Norton (England Sevens, Bristol), Mark Robertson (Scotland Sevens, Galashiels), James Rodwell (England Sevens, Cotteridge) and Marcus Watson (England Sevens, Weybridge). 

Travelling Reserves: Ruaridh McConnochie (England Sevens) and Luke Treharne (Wales Sevens). 

Rugby Sevens Women's Team: Abbie Brown (England Sevens, Exeter), Claire Allan (England Sevens, Ealing), Heather Fisher (England Sevens, Birmingham), Jasmine Joyce (Wales Sevens, Haverfordwest), Natasha Hunt (England Sevens, Gloucester), Katy McLean (England Sevens, South Shields), Emily Scarratt (England Sevens, Leicester), Alice Richardson (England Sevens, Worcester), Emily Scott (England Sevens, Corringham), Joanne Watmore, (England Sevens, Chester), Danielle Waterman (England Sevens, Bristol) and Amy Wilson-Hardy (England Sevens, Poole). 

Travelling Reserves: Kay Wilson (England Sevens) and Megan Jones (England Sevens).


Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.